Cavan County Executive Fine Gael

18.309



15th February 2018.

Chairperson, Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees 2017, Room 1.67, Custom House, Dublin 1, D01 W6X0.

Sent via e-mail to < boundarycommittee@housing.gov.ie>

Re: Electoral Areas –Submission; County Cavan

Dear Ms Tallon,

A meeting of Officers of the above Committee gave long and detailed consideration to the present sub-division of County Cavan and to the possible changes that might be considered to keep in line, as far as is practicable with the Terms of Reference laid down by the Minister.

We also recognize the importance of Clause 6 of the Terms of Reference. We believe that *local and community identities and linkages* are extremely important, particularly in rural areas and parishes where a strong community bond is of the utmost importance for communities to progress and prosper.

In view of the above we hereby make the following submission for your consideration. We ask you to bear the foregoing in mind during your deliberations and wish you every success in this onerous task.

Contd./....

Cavan County Executive Fine Gael

Submission

Currently County Cavan is divided into three Municipal Areas, namely, Bailieborough - Cootehill, Ballyjamesduff and Cavan-Belturbet. Each Municipal Area is assigned six members.

The 2016 census of population shows that County Cavan has a total population of 72,406 persons. The average population per Council Seat will be 4,023. The populations and population per Council Seat in the individual Areas are as follows: -

Municipal Area	Bailieborough-Cootehill	Ballyjamesduff	Cavan-Belturbet
Population 2016	24,415	25,802	22,189
Population per Seat	4,069	4,300	3,698
Deviation from Avera	age + 1.14%	+ 6.89%	- 8.08%

While this deviation is within the tolerance specified in the Terms of Reference we believe that minor adjustments are required to reduce the variance from Area to Area.

We believe the proposed minor Boundary adjustments will bring the population per seat in each Municipal Area closer to the overall average of 4,023. They will also serve to maintain and enhance *community identities and linkages* as per Clause 6 of the Terms of Reference.

Proposed Boundary Changes: -

We propose that the Electoral Divisions(ED) of Redhill and Ballyhaise with a total population of 1,503 should be transferred from Bailieborough-Cootehill to Cavan-Belturbet. We further propose that for the same reasoning the EDs of Crossbane and Mullagh with a total population of 2835 should be transferred from Ballyjamesduff to Bailieborough-Cootehill and the ED of Termon with a population of 536 be transferred from Bailieborough-Cootehill to Bailieborough-Cootehill to Ballyjamesduff. The resulting populations will be as follows; -

Municipal Area	Bailieborough-Cootehill	Ballyjamesduff	Cavan-Belturbet
Resulting Population	25,211	23,503	23,692
Population per Seat	4,202	3,917	3,949
Deviation from Avera	age + 4.45%	- 2.63%	- 1.84%

Yours sincerely,

<u>Patsy O'Callaghan</u> Patsy O'Callaghan Secretary <u>Míchael Smíth</u>

Michael Smith, Chairperson